Classroom Observation-2

Today I was observed again.
As a part of the process of development, I guess these observations will help me to reach the ideal.

20120508-235014.jpg
Before the lesson, I talked to my observer about the discussion and the tense atmosphere in the previous lesson, also I told him that I wasn’t able to finish the last part of the grammar teaching because of the situation. I wanted to tell these things beforehand because I didn’t want to be misunderstood. The good point was he just relieved me that I shouln’t be worried about this and I should keep moving as usual. Then I did so and first I finished the exercise that I couldn’t in the previous lesson.
After finishing the part, I started teaching according to my plan. Although I thought I couldn’t do the warm-up section that well, actually it was a good one. Then as I learned from the previous observation, I tried not to use the instructions from the book as they are written there, instead I gave my own instructions.
I tried to involve all my students to the lesson, luckily I have a great class with great students-but they can be a little noisy sometimes. 😉 What’s more, this time I waited for the answer of the question that I posed. But in the previous one I barraged my students with questions just after asking a question.

20120509-000333.jpg

Actually, things went well during the lesson, although the class was a bit tense in the previous one.

After the observation:
Me and my observer talked about the lesson after the classes were over while we were having our coffee 🙂 But funnily enough I asked first how did you feel:D he replied me that he should be the one asking this question. Then we laughed and I started reflecting. Again he was really ready and asked me some tricky questions. e.g. What was the reason of my choosing the students for the questions? Did I always choose the same ones or the volunteers or the others…?

20120509-001155.jpg

Also he tried to find out what the outcome of my lesson was and what the learning outcomes of my lesson were. I guess I was able to answer these questions.

The most important feedback of this post-observation session was I could push my student harder. Because the level of my students is quite good enough to give -teach more. My activity in the lesson was about using synonyms. After doing the vocabulary part of the task, it took only 2 minutes for them to finish the exercise and I left it there and did not push them harder. But the next time, I won’ forget to bring some extra materials in case of a need for more. By doing so, maybe I will have the chance to see their limits.

To sum up, I found this observation very fruitful for me to improve my teaching skills.
I’m looking forward to being video recorded for the next observation…

Categories: Tags: , ,

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

